You were asking: Your queries resolved with Richard Rosenthal


Maudes Trophy

References to the Maudes Trophy in TCM has recently prompted a number of you to ask where the trophy is, with Mr G Keys asking has any maker won the trophy since Suzuki in 1974. And if so, what were the details?

As many have recorded, George Pettyt, the owner of Maudes Motor Mart, Great Portland Street, London, W1, with branches in Exeter, Norwich and Walsall, donated this trophy to the ACU. It was initially known as the Pettyt Trophy and later renamed the Maudes Trophy.

Article continues below…

Enjoy more Classic MotorCycle reading in the monthly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.
The successful 1925 Norton Maudes Trophy attempt. Phil Pike pilots the 588cc ohv Model 18.

George Pettyt intended it as an annual award but later appeal among makers for the honour of winning the once prestigious award waned.

With Suzuki having had the custody of the Maudes Trophy for two decades, Yamaha made their successful attempt in 1994.

The plan was to pick 10 new Yamaha FZR600 sports machines from stock, one apiece for 10 New Zealand riders, who would enter and complete the year’s IoM Supersport 600 race.

Article continues below…

Read more in the May 2019 issue of TCM – on sale now!

Subscribe to The Classic MotorCycle Magazine Enjoy more The Classic MotorCycle reading in the monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.

Article Tags:

About the Author