The way we were: July 1987

Riders started on Saturday with 1000+ entrants riding through the night in an effort to complete the 500 mile rally.
Many entered into the real spirit of the event including the Velocette Le Club team of Peter Greaves, Mike Reynolds, Norman Parkyns and Mike Payne. However, the 192cc water-cooled flat twin Noddy Bikes were by no means the smallest machines entered, they were beaten to this accolade by the 49cc Mobylette moped of Roy Brown. Although Roy failed to finish the 1939 Scott Flying Squirrel of David Bassett earned him a bronze award despite seizing en route.

Although he’d recorded four wins to date in the 1987 500cc road racing Grand Prix riders’ championship from seven starts, when the show rolled into Le Mans the Australian Wayne Gardner (Honda) knew he’d a battle on his hands. His main rivals Eddie Lawson and Randy Mamola (both Yamaha) had also recorded wins and were snapping at his heels. In poor conditions, Mamola won, with Italian Pierfrancesco Chilli (Honda) second and homeboy Christian Sarron (Yamaha) third.

Enjoy more The Classic MotorCycle reading in the monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.