Stafford prize winners


Firstly we must say a massive thank you to everyone who entered this year – clubs and private entries alike – the standard was very high, and of course a big congratulations to everyone who walked away with a prize.

And the winners are…

Article continues below…

Enjoy more Classic MotorCycle reading in the monthly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.

Outstanding Service to the Classic Motorcycle Movement (The Frank Farrington Outstanding Service Award) – John Surtees

Best in Show (Perpetual) – 1969 Indian Velocette entered by Neil Redley

Best Machine of Technical Interest – 1936 Morgan/Scott entered by Philip Milne-Taylor

Article continues below…

Veteran (manufactured prior 1915) – 1st – 1914 Victoria entered by David Stewart | 2nd – 1911 Royal Enfield entered by Chris Martin | 3rd -1914 Excelsior entered by Rupert Murden

Vintage (manufactured prior 1931) – 1st – 1928 AJS K7 entered by Alan Smith | 2nd – 1929 Magnet Debon entered by John Guy | 3rd – 1916 Sunbeam V-Twin entered by Peter Ashen

Post-Vintage (manufactured prior 1946) – 1st – 1938 Norton CS1 entered by Roger Hainsworth | 2nd – 1933 BSA R33/4 entered by Dale Sole | 3rd – 1938 AJS Silver Streak entered by Charlie Cannon

Article continues below…

Post War (manufactured prior 1965) – 1st – 1959 Norton Dominator 99 entered by Dick Catton | 2nd – 1955 Vincent Black Knight entered by Dick Perry | 3rd – 1961 Triumph T110 entered by Mick Holmes

Classic (manufactured since 1965) – 1st – 1968 Triumph 250 Trophy entered by Pete Edgell | 2nd – 1975 Kawasaki H2C entered by Charlie Owens | 3rd – 1965 Triumph TR6 SC entered by Alan Roberts

Best Japanese Machine – 1969 Suzuki T200 Invader entered by Heidi Cockerton

Article continues below…

Best Military Machine – 1916 Sunbeam entered by Brian Watton

Best Autocycle – 1940 Francis Barnett Power Bike entered by Des Heckle

Best Scooter – 1949 Lambretta B entered by Brian Clough

Best Sidecar Combination – 1953 Vincent Rapide /Steib entered by Vic Mathers

Best Continental Machine – 1974 Garelli Cross entered by Ian Ritchie

Best Competition Machine – 1961 Greeves Hawkstone entered by Colin Sparrow

Best Scrambler Machine – 1981 Maico MC490 entered by Steve Parkins

Best Trials Machine – 1971 Bultaco Sherpa T entered by Mervyn Smith

Best Enduro Machine – 1970 Cheney Triumph entered by Roger Simkin

Most Original Machine – 1949 Moto Major entered by Alessandro Altinier

Best Trade Stand Exhibit – 1939 Vincent Rapide Series A – Probike Art

Best Trade Stand Display – Stainless Classics – Will Horgan

Best Racing Machine – Broad Yamaha – Steve Leasham

Best Oldest Machine – 1912 FN entered by Rod Phillips

Best Classic Racer Grand Prix Paddock Display – Lloyd Dickinson

Award for Motorcycle Photography (The Nick Nicholls Trophy – Perpetual) – 1st John Edwards | 2nd James Custard | 3rd Dave Vaughan

Award for Engineering Excellence (Kay Engineering Trophy – Perpetual) – 1959 Ariel Square 4 Tornado entered by Paul Turner

Best Villiers Engined Machine – 1963 Greeves 250 Prototype entered by Tony East

Best Lady Entrant – 1970 Harley Leggero M65 entered by Geraldine Wood

Best Ex TT Machine – Norton Rotary – Steve Hislop – National Motorcycle Museum

Best Indian – 1942 Indian entered by Tony Cookson

Best Classic Special – 1985 Honda Interceptor entered by Richard Gibbons

British Clubstand – Rudge Enthusiasts Club

Non-British Clubstand – MV Agusta Owners Club

Mixed Make Clubstand – Italian Motorcycle Owners Club

Local Area Clubstand – Wolverhampton & District Classic MCC

Club Stand – 1st – Rudge Enthusiasts Club | 2nd – Vintage Japanese Motorcycle Club | 3rd – British Two Stroke Club

Subscribe to The Classic MotorCycle Magazine Enjoy more The Classic MotorCycle reading in the monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.

Article Tags:

About the Author